Learning a new Love Language

People feel and express love in different ways. What one person may believe communicates their deepest feelings may seem superficial and unneeded by another person. This comes from your personal love language.

There are five different love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch. Expressing and receiving love differently than your partner opens the door for miscommunication, which can cause serious problems in your relationship. In order to avoid this tragedy, figure out and cater to your partnerโ€™s love language.

Words of Affirmation

To these people, words speak much louder than actions. They need to hear you say how much you love and appreciate having them in your life. Start with always choosing your words carefully. This kind of person lives for your compliments and words of approval. Even the smallest compliment will go along way with Words of Affirmation.

Quality Time

This language is more than simply spending time with one another. It needs to be quality time. Turn off your phone, send the kids to a babysitter and enjoy some actual time with your loved one. Make date night a regular priority, maybe learning healthy recipes together, to make sure that Quality Time really feels how much you care.


This person isnโ€™t necessarily materialistic. Itโ€™s often the thought and meaning behind the gift that really resonates with this language. Pay attention to the little things this person says they want. Also, surprise gifts like organic fruit baskets or fair trade flowers are great ways to show some spontaneous love in this language. Organic Bouquet is an Insteading favorite, but alsoย FloristExpress.com has someย arrangements that are sure to speak to your loved one.

Acts of Service

For those considering alternative gifts, the gift of service is as strong a builder of personal relationships as any on earth. Go find that to-do list your loved one gave your three months ago and get to work on it. Chances are, you lack of service is the reason your relationship hasnโ€™t taken off. This person isnโ€™t lazy. Rather, they want to know that you are willing to take care of them. Find little things you can do to show your love everyday. Even the simplest thing like doing the dishes or packing their lunch can go a long way.

Physical Touch

This reaches beyond the bedroom. Physical touch is about making your partner feel safe and loved through your touch. A carefully placed touch on the arm or pat on the back can go a long way in this language. Little things like sitting closer during a movie or making a point to touch your partner in a crowded room are great ways to show your love.

Everybody gives and receives love, but sometimes itโ€™s difficult to pinpoint. Have a conversation with your partner about these things and learn how to start communicating love more powerfully to one another.

Photo from Shutterstock

Written by Scott Cooney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

soil block starting seeds

The DIY Soil Block Maker: 7 Plans

Spotted: Growing Mushrooms in…a Laundry Basket?