Eating Vegan: Answering the Chocolate Question

There are tons of companies making great dark chocolate that is 100% vegan and 100% delicious! Here are some of my faves.

Eating Vegan: Answering the Chocolate Question

There are tons of companies making great dark chocolate that is 100% vegan and 100% delicious! Here are some of my faves.From the land involved to the waste produced, conventional dairy production has a huge environmental impact. Not only is conventional dairy not great for the planet, it’s not so great for you. You can do yourself and your body a favor but cutting back on or cutting out the dairy in your diet.

Whenever folks learn that I don’t eat dairy products, there are certain questions they seem to always ask. One of the most common is:

But don’t you miss chocolate?

The assumption is that chocolate has to contain milk, and that’s just not true at all. What makes chocolate….chocolate…is cocoa butter which despite its name is a plant ingredient. There are tons of companies making great dark chocolate that is 100% vegan and 100% delicious!

Finding vegan chocolate is as easy as taking the time to do a bit of label-reading. While you might not be able to just grab a Hershey bar, you don’t have to live a chocolate-free existence, either. Here are just a few tasty options:

Ghiradelli

Many varieties of Ghirardelli dark chocolate are vegan, including their semi-sweet chocolate chips. –

Ed. note: A thoughtful reader reached out to tell me that many of Ghiradelli’s products have been reformulated and now contain milk. Definitely read the ingredients. They still offer some vegan dark chocolate, but definitely check the label before buying.

Dagoba

Dagoba makes some really tasty dark chocolate. Watch out, though. Since they were bought by Hershey’s a few years ago, I’ve noticed some milk ingredients creeping in. A little label reading is definitely in order here.

Vosges

While it’s on the pricier side, Vosges makes amazing dark chocolate.

Whole Foods 365

Whole Foods 365 brand makes affordable vegan dark chocolate chips.

Sharffen Berger

+ Sharffen Berger makes a mean dark chocolate bar! And by mean, I mean delicious.

Endangered Species Dark Chocolate

Not only are there cute critters pictured on every package, Endangered Species’ dark chocolate is 100% fair trade. Recommended: 72% dark chocolate bar with raspberries.

This is hardly a comprehensive list! With a little label reading, you’ll discover lots of other vegan chocolate options out there. Cocoa powder is usually vegan, too, which means you can add chocolate to your soy- or almond milk or to baked goods. Do you have a favorite brand of dark chocolate? I’m always looking for new sorts to try out!

Image Credit: Creative Commons photo by nicubunu

22 Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Vegans also like potatoes, bread and tomato sauce (among a whole list of others!), will you also avoid them Russ?

  2. Thanks for the info and the environmental connection of dairy products…

    A question from someone who never liked the bitter flavour of dark chocolate – does anyone know of any dairy-free brands that taste more like “milk chocolate?”

  3. Thanks! Now I know what types to buy!

    Ps. Trader Joe’s has got several varieties of dark chocolate w/o milk. They are also organic and or fair trade, if I remember correctly!

  4. Alter Eco has the absolute BEST selection of Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free and GMO-Free dark chocolate – and it’s USDA Certified Organic and Fair Trade Certified. You can’t get much better than that! My favorites are the Twist which contains crystallized orange peel, and the Mint – which tastes like a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie but even better. I did not try these bars because I’m vegan, or even on a special diet, but they are simply the best I have ever had! Not bitter and a variety for every kind of taste buds! I will never eat another Hershey’s again!!!! You can find them at Whole Foods or visit the website for a complete list of distributors.

  5. I hit up Whole Foods this evening to hunt for Alter Eco, but the one by me seems to be out! Boo. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out…the Twist bar sounds amazing!

  6. I had no idea there were so many vegan chocolate options! I have tried a lot of the ones you mentioned and had no idea. Good to know.

  7. Rescue Chocolate is 100% vegan, down to the sugar!

    “Peanut Buter Pit Bill” is heaven on earth.

    All net proceeds go to animal rescue groups, check it out.

  8. I just checked the allergens document on Ghirardelli’s website, and it indicates that their semi-sweet chocolate chips now contain dairy. I’ll double-check when I visit the grocery store today–I’m really hopeful to find some accidentally vegan brand there, as the prices for the brands sold at the health food stores are a little high for me now. (I don’t have a Whole Foods near me with its own cheaper, generic brand.)

    It seems to me from Jennifer’s unstintingly positive comment and link that she totally works for Alter-Ego.

  9. the endangered species candy wrapper says its processed on equipment that also produces candy with milk in it..so is it still vegan?? just wondering im a vegitarian im thinking about switching to being a vegan

    • That’s a good question, and one personal to many vegans. I’m OK with chocolate produced in the same factory as non-vegan chocolate, as long as the bar I’m buying doesn’t contain animal ingredients in the recipe.

      I guess it depends on your reasons for going vegan and how strict you want to be. Rather than punish Endangered Species Chocolate for being unable to afford a separate, vegan facility, I’d prefer to reward them for creating so many vegan chocolate bars, but other vegans are not OK with that. For me, it’s about voting with my wallet and supporting companies that produce vegan foods, but if your goal is to completely cut out any trace of animal products, you’d want to avoid chocolate with that kind of labeling.

      I hope this helps! I almost feel like it raises more questions than it answers!

  10. it does kinda i mean my mom wont let me become a vegan until i leave the house cuz im already a pain with being a vegetarian lolz..so i guess im ok as long as its just milk..do you know if the sugar is processed with bone char or not..its kind of a stupid question but i just want to be thuro

6 Pings & Trackbacks

  1. Pingback:

  2. Pingback:

  3. Pingback:

  4. Pingback:

  5. Pingback:

  6. Pingback:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Green Talk Radio: Green Blogger Series David Anderson Co-Founder of Green Options Media

Pacific Coastal Salmon Recovery Fund Eliminated by House; Will Senate Save Them?